Foal diary

Dungarvan

Bay colt by Dubawi out of Dalkova

 

Hello! I was born at Warren Stud, just outside Newmarket, on 31 January 2016.

I am my Mum's very first foal - her name is Dalkova and she won three races when she was a racehorse herself. One of these races was a Black type race, which is the sort of race all owners want their horses to win.


Just down the road from Warren Stud is Dalham Hall Stud, which is where my Dad Dubawi lives. He is a fantastic stallion as lots and lots of his other foals have gone on to win Black type races - quite a few of them have won Group One races which is the very best type of race there is. Hopefully I can continue the family tradition and win some races myself once I have grown up!

 

In December 2016, I moved to Ireland to a farm called Blackhall Stud. On January 1st 2017 I officially became a year older, even though my real birthday was not until the end of the month, so I am now called a yearling. I am enjoying my new home and making sure I spend lots of time in the paddock, galloping around and playing in the mud!

 

I am having a great time in Ireland – the lush green grass is helping me to grow big and strong and I’ve got plenty of room to stretch my legs out in the paddock. It won’t be long before I’ll take the next step towards becoming a racehorse – learning to wear a bridle and saddle. I can’t wait!



This is a photo of me taken in September 2017 at Kildangan Stud in Ireland where I live in a field with lots of other yearling colts. I am the one on the left!

 

In January 2018, I officially became a two-year-old and when I have done enough training I will run in my first race, which will be very exciting. I have been named Dungarvan.